3 Chips On God
2 min readDec 8, 2021

--

Thank you, Reverend, for your kind and thoughtful words. I completely agree that even a monk needs to do laundry / chores, but I guess I would expect a ratio of mundane chores to charitable / service type work to be different than what I see in the average person who claims to be 100% a believer.

The monk has renounced worldly attachments, and taken drastic measures that match his professed beliefs. To stay alive, of course there are chores that he must perform - and doing those chores could also be interpreted as charitable and holy if they are done in a humble manner meant to further one's service to mankind. But the monk's ratio of hangovers / fighting / cheating on taxes to good deeds / necessary chores would be alot different than the average person.

I don't have issues with those who are not so "holier-than-thou" in their beliefs, but I've got some friends who are really demonstrative or opinionated when it comes to believing in God / Heaven / Afterlife, yet seem to exhibit such a contrast in their everyday behavior.

Also I'm not saying there may not be a reasonable perspective from other people's view as to why they are like that. There might be some thinking going on in their mind that I just don't understand yet - but maybe someday someone will explain things to me in a way that clicks. I personally feel that if I were to believe in a Heaven or better place we could go, I would be doing EVERYTHING I could to make sure I reach there, because I'm not too enchanted with this world - as I mention in my response above, to the first comment.

--

--

3 Chips On God

by Preeti Gupta, age 49, female. Curious, skeptical, open-minded spiritual agnostic. Financial planner by profession, writer by passion.