3 Chips On God
1 min readNov 9, 2023

--

I’m a financial planner and CPA for a living and I can tell you that part of it is also spending wisely to get the most bang for your buck. Inherited wealth is definitely part of it, but for example, I bought a beautiful patio set when it was on deep discount at the end of season, and I still enjoy it seven years later.

A family member who makes more than me buys everything at full price. They are not able to delay gratification at all.

My patio set is the equivalent of theirs, but I paid a fraction of the price. Similarly on some things I will buy generic, and in other areas I will splurge on brand names or organic. It’s really about getting value for your money.

Of course, that’s also subject for each of us . But some people will spend more on experiences, and they might not show up as much or as others will spend on tangible items and they’re more visible. So lots of different things can add up to why some seem to have way more money than others in the same bracket.

--

--

3 Chips On God

by Preeti Gupta, age 49, female. Curious, skeptical, open-minded spiritual agnostic. Financial planner by profession, writer by passion.