3 Chips On God
2 min readMar 11, 2022

--

I don’t know - I guess I disagree with the author and most of the response here- I feel like such humor is meant to be taken lightly and not so seriously.

Although I understand the position of not wanting humor to be about people but maybe stick to things like daily routines or objects or other things that annoy. I do agree that there can be plenty to joke about without including people. I also agree that some people could be hurt by such jokes.

But that said I just think these types of bumper stickers are cute and a good chuckle and I don’t read too much into them. I feel that we are getting too PC in this world and sucking out all the fun and lightness. Between that and cancel culture and the whole woke culture I am worried we are getting into censorship land. On the other hand I am glad that there is increased tolerance for diversity and decrease tolerance for racism.

So I’m torn on this issue but I do think the bumper sticker is kind of funny especially since I’m a financial planner and I do know kids are expensive so it’s not personal, it’s just funny because it’s so true. A parent can love their kid more than anything in the world but also whine about them being so expensive, or about the expensive cars they’ve given up. Doing so doesn’t mean they don’t love their children. Every choice in life is a two sided coin and acknowledging the cons of a certain choice does not devalue one’s appreciation of the pros. It’s just human and funny to be able to poke fun at certain situations doesn’t mean that you don’t appreciate what you have.

--

--

3 Chips On God

by Preeti Gupta, age 49, female. Curious, skeptical, open-minded spiritual agnostic. Financial planner by profession, writer by passion.