3 Chips On God
1 min readNov 12, 2021

--

Hi Taaseen -

I agree with alot of what you wrote, because I think there are many ways to approach these topics, and not one that is right or wrong. I can't argue with much of what you said, but at the same time I believe there can be other ways to slice and dice things. I personally strive for a life with much less suffering, though I do understand what you mean by not being able to have life fully devoid of it, and certain types of suffering being useful.

Similarly, I have written an article on Optimistic Nihilism - to be published in time for the holidays - which says much of what you did, including a reference to Camus, and accepting the world as it is, cruelty and all, and simply doing one's best to change it to the best of one's ability. That is exactly what I wrote, because pessimists like myself have to constantly remind themselves of this reality.

But I don't have your matter-of-fact, stoic (pun intended) method of analyzing and presenting ideas. I much prefer to indulge in the emotions, and acknowledge the sadness and struggles, and push and pull at concepts from different angles - like playing with a ball of clay. I think these are complex topics with answers that are not so simple.

But I know Medium/Comments are not a great forum for debating ideas of complexity, and as mentioned, I do agree with all that you said, definitely cannot argue with any of it!

--

--

3 Chips On God

by Preeti Gupta, age 49, female. Curious, skeptical, open-minded spiritual agnostic. Financial planner by profession, writer by passion.